Mood Swing

 

The starting concept was inspired by my own experience of struggling with my mental health condition. I had a really bad mood swing starting this early semester because I was stressing out because of the personal issues. When I was struggling, people around me always checked how I ‘feel,’ even though I told them I was fine (and I was actually fine), they would tell me, “No, you don’t look fine but It is going to be all okay.” I wanted to tell them I was actually “OKAY” when I am.

I adore how certain animals can express their feelings and warning with bodily visual elements. Especially, I love how hedgehogs express their attention and meditation level through either relaxing thorns or having their thorns stuck up. Thrones of Hedgehogs became my visual inspiration.

So for this project, I wanted to make a dress that will express if a person, including myself, is actually okay or not with disticntive visual element. I used brain sensor to change the color of my 3D printed thrones to show whether a person who is wearing it is feeling good or not. I sew flora LEDs and glued the 3D printed thrones on top of the LEDs.

Unfortunately, the website is not allowing me to upload the color changing video so I will only upload photos with different colors of LEDs. Screen Shot 2016-12-28 at 12.54.57 AM.pngScreen Shot 2016-12-28 at 12.55.06 AM.png

When I documented with a model, I asked the model to interpret those colors, how she feels about the color and express it through her poses.

IMG_3778.JPG

Before the final presentation, I faced a lot of technical issues so I seperated LED trails into two section and the bottom LEDs are fixed with one color but the top part would react to the brain sensor. Thankfully, Snow modelled for me. IMG_3779.JPGScreen Shot 2016-12-19 at 8.16.29 PM.pngScreen Shot 2016-12-19 at 8.17.23 PM.png

Leave a Reply

