Observations and Ideas | Kate

I have a really close relationship with my coffee cup. My coffee cup is a tool for preparing myself to enter the outside world each day, so I wonder how I can increase/intensify/stratify that process of preparation. I wonder if I could make a wearable to deepen levels of  interaction of waking up–either to tie my relationship with my cup to the sunrise, or the exterior temperature, or sounds outside. Light, heat, sound….?

700-0294-heath-0294-large-mug-slate-indigo-731by607

On another topic (sort of related, but also totally different), I think in general about “wearables” for buildings, and in particular for domestic spaces. Could you make a curtain that negotiated that space between public and private–maybe something that opened (smart fabric) when it got hot out, and closed when it got cold, or had a lighting system in in that created some sort of passive interaction between interior occupants and neighbors/passersby/the general public? A lighting system integrated into it that indicated, but abstracted, the activities on the interior, and also relayed exterior activities back to those on the inside?

Leave a Reply

